PRIZE | New York 2016

The PRIZE is a jury awarded cash grant given to an artist of distinction featured in a solo exhibition at the fair.

The winner of the 2016 New York PULSE Prize was Thomas Broadbent, represented by Front Room Gallery, Brooklyn, NY.

Congratulations to all of the Prize nominees:

Isidro Blasco – Black & White Gallery, Brooklyn, NY
Jaq Chartier – William Baczek Fine Arts, Northampton, MA
Lars van Dooren – Honey Ramka, Brooklyn, NY
Oliver Dorfer – Hilger NEXT, Vienna, Austria
Tony Gum – Christopher Moller Gallery, Cape Town, South Africa
Sergei Isupov – Ferrin Contemporary, North Adams, MA
Brookhart Jonquil – Emerson Dorsch, Miami, FL
J.T. Kirkland – Adah Rose Gallery, Kensington, MD
Ryan McGinness – Lower East Side Printshop, New York, NY
Ciro Quintana – Acacia Gallery
Yumi Janairo Roth – Sienna Patti, Lenox, MA
Hiba Schahbaz – Thierry Goldberg Gallery, New York, NY
Sue Williams A’Court – bo.lee gallery, London, United Kingdom
Bradley Wood – SIM SMITH GALLERY, London, United Kingdom


PULSE would like to thank the New York 2016 PULSE Prize Jury:

Anthony Haden-Guest, Writer, Reporter, Cartoonist and Sporadic Performer
Matthew Israel, Artsy Curator at Large
Larry Ossei-Mensah, Curator and ARTNOIR Co-Founder
Hrag Vartanian, Hyperallergic.com Editor-in-chief


Previous winners include:

PULSE Miami Beach 2015: Trong Gia Nguyen (mc2gallery)
PULSE New York 2015: Elisabeth Condon (Emerson Dorsch)
PULSE Miami Beach 2014: Andrea Canepa (Rosa Santos)
PULSE New York 2014: Hassan Hajjaj (GUSFORD | los angeles)
PULSE New York 2013: Marjolijn De Wit (OTTO ZOO)
PULSE Miami 2013: Cristina De Middel (Black Ship)
PULSE New York 2012: Sigrid Viir (Temnikova & Kasela Gallery)
PULSE Miami 2012: Nadine Wottke (WIDMER + THEODORIDIS Contemporary)
PULSE Los Angeles 2011: Alexander Massouras (Skylight Projects)
PULSE New York 2011: David Ellis (Joshua Liner Gallery)
PULSE Miami 2011: Larissa Nowicki (Man&Eve)
PULSE New York 2010: Johanna Unzueta (RJ Fine Arts)
PULSE Miami 2010: Jorge Diaz-Torres (Rica Gallery)
PULSE New York 2009: Eric Beltz (Morgan Lehman)
PULSE Miami 2009: Okay Mountain (Arthouse)
PULSE New York 2008: Philip Gurrey (Madder 139)
PULSE Miami 2008: Emilio Chapela Perez, Chen Chieh-Jen (EDN)
PULSE New York 2007: Chris Natrop (BANK)
PULSE Miami 2007: Duke Riley (Magnan Projects)
PULSE Miami 2006: Travis Somerville (Nathan Larramendy Gallery)