PULSE New York will return from March 3-6, 2016 to the Metropolitan Pavilion in Chelsea at 125 West 18th Street. More information, including hours, directions and how to purchase tickets, will be updated on our Visitors page in the coming months.

Founded in 2005, PULSE Contemporary Art Fair is an established part of the annual art calendar with editions in New York and Miami Beach. The fair is recognized for providing its international community of emerging and established galleries with a dynamic platform for connecting with a global audience. PULSE offers visitors an engaging environment in which to discover and collect the most compelling contemporary art being produced today.


 Advisory Committee

PULSE is pleased to welcome our 2015-16 Advisory Committee, a valued group of curators, directors and gallerists who actively support and advise the fair.

IMG_5435Sherry Dobbin_headshot (1)Alice Gray Stites_headshot (1)Cai Wagner_headshot (1)
From left to right: Maxwell and Charles Davidson, Sherry Dobbin, Alice Gray Stites, Cai Wagner

Maxwell Davidson IV, Director
Charles C. Davidson, Director
Davidson Contemporary

Maxwell Davidson and Charles C. Davidson are directors of Davidson Contemporary, which was founded in 2006 as a subsidiary of Maxwell Davidson Gallery with the intention of finding new, emerging, and mid-career artists around the world, and cultivating their work through exhibitions, art fairs, and placement in public and private collections. Davidson Contemporary represents artists working in virtually all media including painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, and more.

Sherry Dobbin, Creative Director, Director of Times Square Arts
Times Square Alliance

Sherry Dobbin is the Creative Director & Director of Times Square Arts at the Times Square Alliance. Since February 2012, she has developed programs for Times Square’s electronic billboards, public plazas, vacant areas, popular venues, and online platforms. Ms. Dobbin brings over 20 years international experience across performance and visual arts, and art in the public realm, where she has worked as producer, administrator, consultant and curator. Prior to Times Square, she was the Director of Robert Wilson’s The Watermill Center and a Project Director of arts-led regeneration throughout London and Eastern UK. Ms. Dobbin sits on advisory and review panels for cross-disciplinary arts organizations, including PULSE Advisory Committee, The Laundromat Project, Eyebeam and Open House New York, and co-teaches “The Arts & Artist in Urban Revitalization” at the NYU Robert F Wagner Graduate School of Public Service.

Alice Gray Stites, VP Museum Director
21c Museum Hotels

Stites serves as Museum Director and Chief Curator of 21c Museum Hotels, North America’s first multi- venue museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting art of the 21st century. Prior to joining 21c in 2012, Stites was director of artwithoutwalls, a non-profit, non-collecting public arts organization, and from 1995-2006 was adjunct curator of contemporary art at the Speed Art Museum. Stites has lectured at universities and conferences, including Art Basel Conversations, Leaders in Software and Art, TEDx Stockholm, Moving Image Spotlight, PULSE Perspectives, the University of Louisville and the Kentucky Governor’s School for the Arts. She has served as a juror for ArtPrize 2013 and PULSE Prize 2014. She is responsible for cultivating the longtime partnership between 21c and Creative Capital, an organization that supports emerging artists. She has been active on advisory boards at the University of Kentucky’s College of Design and at the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas. Stites graduated magna cum laude from the University of Virginia, and holds an M.A. from Columbia University.

Cai Wagner, Director

Wagner studied Arts and Humanities at Freie Universität Berlin. Before starting his first gallery in 2000 with partners, he worked as a theatre stage designer.  In 2008, he opened his current gallery, Wagner + Partner, in Berlin focusing on contemporary painting and photography. For 10 years, Wagner was a board member of the Berlin Gallery Association. He lives and works in Berlin.



toomer headshotVanessa Seis_Foto Caitlin_Britton_thumbnail 

From left to right: Helen Toomer, Vanessa Seis, Alexandra Slattery, Caitlin Britton

Helen Toomer, Director

Helen Toomer is the Director of PULSE Contemporary Art Fair. She is the former Director of the Collective Design Fair, which launched in New York in 2013. Helen has extensive experience in the worlds of event development, marketing, partnerships, operations and management in both Europe and the United States. In addition to her art fair experience, she also owned a contemporary gallery on New York’s Lower East Side from 2011 – 2013. She graduated with honors from the Arts institute of Bournemouth, England.

Vanessa Seis, Fair Manager
Vanessa has been working with PULSE since 2012 and was appointed Fair Manager in 2014 where she handles exhibitor relations and operations. She holds a German Diplom in Media Management and Economics from Rheinische Fachhochschule Köln, and has an extensive background in project management and communications working with the online startup, entertainment and music industries in Germany.

Alexandra Slattery, Communications Manager
Alexandra Slattery is Communications Manager of PULSE Contemporary Art Fair, handling all aspects of marketing and communications. She previously worked at ArtBinder where she helped galleries and collectors utilize new technologies to organize their inventories and promote their artists and programs. Alexandra holds BAs in both Art History and Journalism from New York University.

Caitlin Britton, Partner & Sponsorship Coordinator
Joining the team in 2014, Caitlin explored various aspects within PULSE – from producing social media to on-site production – before finding her niche in building and maintaining relationships between the fair and innovative brands to make the visitor experience a dynamic one. She graduated in 2013 with a BA  in Communications Studies from James Madison University.